Our Leadership

Our Leadership

    Our Leadership

    Crandall University was founded in 1949 by the Canadian Baptists of Atlantic Canada which continues to support the University and to elect and ratify appointments to its Board of Governors. The University is responsible to provide quality education for Christian leaders of tomorrow.

    Crandall University, as a corporation, is controlled by a Board of Governors elected annually from among the supporters of the University. The Senate of Crandall University determines all academic standards and is comprised of the President of Crandall University, the Vice-President for Academic Affairs, members of faculty, the Librarian, plus representatives of the student body, the alumni, the Board of Governors, and the Convention.

    Message From the President

    Bruce-FawcettWelcome to the Crandall University website! I attended Crandall in the 1980s and God used many things at Crandall to shape me and prepare me for what He has in mind for me.

    At many of the larger universities in Canada, undergraduate classrooms are filled with hundreds of students and many first year classes have over 1,000 students. At Crandall most of our second, third, and fourth year classes have less than 20 students. This means that your professors will know your name and be better able to coach and guide you through your years of study.

    We’ve worked hard to recruit excellent professors. Our instructors have earned advanced degrees at some of the world’s most prestigious research universities: from Notre Dame, Columbia and Harvard in the US, to Toronto, UBC, McMaster, Western, and Queens in Canada, and a variety of British universities. Our professors have traveled and lectured widely. They have published extensively, and have worked in some pretty exciting roles prior to joining our team.

    Crandall seeks to partner with God to “transform lives through quality university education firmly rooted in the Christian faith”. We’ve been able to achieve this mission largely as a result of our ability to attract highly qualified Christian faculty and staff. They are fantastic and you will love them!

    I hope that you will contact our Admissions Office and set up a date to visit our beautiful campus. I’m confident you’ll be impressed by the quality educational experience we offer. I look forward to meeting you!

    Bruce Fawcett, Ph.D.
    President and Vice-Chancellor
    Professor of Leadership and Religious Studies

    Return to Top

    President's Council Executive

    Bruce G. Fawcett, Ph.D.

    President and Vice-Chancellor / Professor of Leadership and Religious Studies

    Read Bruce's bio

    Heather Burke, CPA, CA

    Vice-President for Administration and Finance & Part-time Lecturer of Business Administration

    Contact Heather

    Robert Knowles, D.Min.

    Vice-President for Advancement & Part-time Lecturer of Organizational Management

    Contact Robert

    Jon Ohlhauser, Ph.D.

    Provost & VP for Academic Affairs, Interim Director of ClayStone, & Part-time Lecturer of Communication Studies

    Return to Top

    Board of Govenors 2017-2018

    Rev. Dr. Moses Adekola
    New Glasgow, NS

    Dr. Dannie Brown
    North Sydney, NS

    Mr. Graeme Ching
    Moncton, NB

    Ms. Colleen Cole
    Porter’s Lake, NS

    Mr. Greg Cook
    Fredericton, NB

    Ms. Sheila Cummings
    Perth-Andover, NB

    Rev. Dr. Roger Graham
    Saint John, NB

    Ms. Evelyn Hiltz
    New Ross, NS

    Mr. Todd Jones
    Port Williams, NS

    Mr. Lorne MacDowell
    St. George’s Channel, NS

    Rev. Dr. Garth MacKay
    Kensington, PE

    Ms. Darlene Osmond
    Portugal, Cv-St Phillips, NL

    Mr. Darren Smith
    Alberton, PE

    Dr. Allison Trites
    Wolfville, NS

    Ms. Jasmine Wong
    Charlottetown, PE


    Return to Top

    Senate 2017-2018

    Dr. Bruce Fawcett
    President & Vice-Chancellor (Chair)

    Dr. Jon Ohlhauser
    VP for Academic Affairs (Vice-Chair)

    Dr. Alan Chan
    Faculty Representative

    Dr. Abram Steen
    Faculty Representative

    Dr. Tracy Freeze
    Faculty Representative

    Dr. Edward Newell
    Faculty Representative

    Dr. John Stackhouse
    Faculty Representative

    Dr. Stephen Dempster
    Faculty Representative

    Dr. Elissa Rodkey
    Faculty Representative

    Mr. Ivan Douthwright

    Mr. Ron Cummings
    CBAC Representative

    Ms. Jasmine Wong
    Crandall Student Association President

    Dr. Allison Trites
    Representative of the Board of Governors

    Rev. Dr. Roger Graham
    Representative of the Board of Governors

    Ms. Autumn Tremere
    Alumni Representative

    Ms. Marybeth Clements
    Interim Registrar (Recording Secretary)

    Return to Top